Québec Political Economy Conference 2017-07-05T16:18:58+00:00

Québec Political Economy Conference

Québec Political Economy Conference – 2017

The 5th Quebec conference in Political Economy will take place from the 28th of March to 1st of April 2017 in Mont Saint-Anne, Québec Canada.

The conference is organized by Decio Coviello (HEC Montréal) and Nicolas Sahuguet (HEC Montréal).

Conference Program

Wednesday March 29th

Evening session – 5.30pm: Peng Sun (Duke University) Optimal Contract to Induce Continued Effort

Thursday March 30th

Morning session – 8.30 am: Jorge Vasquez (Bank of Canada) Crime and Vigilance
Lunch session – 12.30pm: David Chan (Stanford University) Price-setting by Committee in Medicare
Evening session 1 – 5.30pm : Raphaël Godefroy (Université de Montréal) Parliament Shapes and Sizes
Evening session 2 : Nicola Persico (Northwestern University) Division of labor: Theory and evidence from judges

Friday March 31th

Morning session – 8.30 am : Nicolas Sahuguet (HEC Montréal) Electoral incentives: the interaction between candidate selection and electoral rule
Lunch session – 12.30pm: Arthur Silve (Université Laval) Putting your neighbor’s house in order: military intervention and institutional cooperation
Evening session 1 – 5.30pm: Sarah Moshary (University of Pennsylvania) Price Discrimination Across Political Action Committees: Evidence from the 2012 Election
Evening session 2: Alessandro Lizzerri (New York University) Frictions in a Competitive Regulated Market: Evidence from Taxis

Saturday April 1st

Morning session – 8.30 am: Charles Angelucci (Columbia University) New Media and News Desert
Lunch session – 12.30 pm: Karam Kang (Carnegie Mellon University) Enforcement of Environmental Regulation: Evidence from the Clean Water Act
Evening session 1 – 5.30pm: Matt Backus (Columbia University) I don’t know
Evening session 2: Juan Carlos Suarez Serrato (Duke University) The Limits of Meritocracy: Screening Bureaucrats Under Imperfect Verifiability

Participants (confirmed list so far)

Charles Angelucci (Columbia University)
Matthew Backus (Columbia University)
David Chan (Stanford University)
Decio Coviello (HEC Montréal)
Raphael Godefroy (Université de Montréal)
Karam Kang (Carnegie Mellon University)
Alessandro Lizzeri (New York University)
Pino Lopomo (Duke University)
Sarah Moshary (University of Pennsylvania)
Nicola Persico (MEDS, Northwestern University)
Nicolas Sahuguet (HEC Montréal)
Juan Carlos Suarez Serrato (Duke University)
Arthur Silve (Université Laval)
Jorge Vasquez (Bank of Canada)

Local Contacts

Decio Coviello (decio.coviello@hec.ca)
Nicolas Sahuguet (nicolas.sahuguet@hec.ca)